What would your life be like without music?

I’m not gonna lie and say I remember the first song I ever heard. I probably don’t even know who the greatest artist was around the time I was six.

But I do know that my mother loved gospel music. I grew up in a Seventh Day Adventist home and, as such, Adventist music was the kind of music that always filled the rooms at home.

We struggled a lot financially, my mother and me. We had those Hi-Fi radios that were battery powered. We needed those because we could barely keep the lights on. Let alone food on the table.

Listening to those a Capella songs kind of made things bearable. It gave us hope.

I’ve since graduated from listening to just one genre of music. I know find solace in a wide variety of songs. Music gives my life colour.

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started